Folkestone Short Film Festival 2022 Official Selection

This year we received over 700 submissions from 84 countries. Whittling these entries down to 16 was no small feat but here we are. We are delighted to announce the official selection for the Folkestone Short Film Festival 2022.

Last year’s bar for excellence was set so high and would have been incredibly difficult to beat. However we feel that this selection, for what will be our final year as an online-only event, is possibly our best yet.

Without further ado, here is the Official Selection for the Folkestone Short Film Festival 2022.

Official Selection

(In order of submission date)

Squatch Man (Directed by Hannah Mae)
In Isolation (Directed by Edmund C. Short)
The Infectious Imagination Of Henry Bramble (Directed by Derek Boyes)
Boredom (Directed by George Bartlett)
Backseat Driver (Directed by Jake Balfour-Lynn)
Cheat Code (Directed by Daniel Elkin)
Slice of Adventure (Directed by Justin Ethington, Jordan Carney & John McKeon)
It’s Not Safe Outside (Directed by Stephan Bookas)
Road Trip (Directed by Natalie A. Evans)
Chapel of Rest (Directed by Iain Cash)
The Last Torment (Directed by Gareth Frederick Repton)
Hi John (Directed by Jordan Pitt, Sinitta Monero)
Archie’s Last Drive (Directed by Eben Skilleter)
Johnny Spittoon (Directed by Neil Whitman)
Dig Boy Dig (Directed by Andrew McCann)
Ainsworth (Directed by Sam Blake Talbot)

Congratulations to everyone whose films were selected and commiserations to those who weren’t. If you get in touch with us when we launch next year’s call for submissions we’ll send you a discount code for your next submission.

As previously stated this is the last year without a physical event so on the day (Saturday 30 July) the judges will be either meeting in person or via Zoom and watching all the short films together. You can also watch the short films at the same time here. We’ll then discuss each film and decide who will be our 2022 winners. The winners will be announced at 22:00 on 30 July.

New Venue for next year

It’s been negotiated, agreed and confirmed we will have a venue next year <*Collective whooping*> More information will be announced when we announce the launch of the 2023 edition.


Best of luck to all of the amazing filmmakers out there as we return to normality following a tough couple of years.

Folkestone Short Film Festival Winners

After what turned out to be yet another disruptive year, we are delighted to announce the 2021 Folkestone Short Film Festival winners.

We had hoped that, after a year to forget, 2021’s festival would be a great way for us to return to normality. Alas, it was not to be. For the second year running the Folkestone Short Film Festival was held behind closed doors. This year’s festival was the most difficult we’ve hosted and tinged with disappointment because we couldn’t host it in front of a live audience. However, we are eternally grateful for the messages of support and goodwill we’ve received from so many people. We will strive to ensure the 2022 festival will be the best yet and you are all invited!

So, without further ado, after 12 months, 100 submissions from 28 countries, 17 shortlisted and one big day, here are the winners of the 2021 Folkestone Short Film Festival.

Folkestone Short Film Festival 2021 Winners

Best Director

Laurent Ardoint & Stephane Duprat
“The Killer in Cursed Water” / “La Tueur du Lac Maudit”

Best Cinematography

“The Boy and the Mountain” / “El Niño y la Montaña”
Santiago Aguilera, Gabriel Monreal


Best Storyline (Writers)

Pablo Aguirre, Santiago Aguilera, Kulie Trupp & Gabriel Monreal
“The Boy and the Mountain”

Best Soundtrack

Nathan Sellam & Stephane Duprat
“The Killer in Cursed Water”

Best Acting

Gabrielle Chabot, Thomas Grascoeur, Marine Toulet & Stella
“The Killer in Cursed Water”

Best Editing

“The Boy and the Mountain”
Santiago Aguilera, Gabriel Monreal

And the big one…

Best Film

“The Killer in Cursed Water”

Laurent Ardoint & Stephane Duprat

Two films really ran away with it this year, a first for our festival. A huge congratulations go to the cast and crew of the two films. Also congratulations to the cast and crew of the fifteen other selected films who unfortunately did not pick up any awards.

The persons who submitted the two winning films will be contacted in due course to arrange the delivery of their trophies.

We would like to wish one of our regular judges, Frank Jakeman, our very best wishes after he recently underwent major surgery and thus was unable to judge this year’s event.

Submissions for the 2022 Folkestone Short Film Festival will open on Sunday 1st August at 12pm BST via FilmFreeway.



Cinema seats

Hellfire Short Film Festival 2020 – The Winners

The 2nd Hellfire Short Film Festival took place on 4th July under unusual circumstances. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic we made the difficult decision to change how this year’s festival took place.

Read more